Do you want to make a difference?

I want to work in a humanitarian organization, where I can help those who can’t help themselves. Where I can make a difference. Where I can contribute to making the world a better place to live. I want to make impossible things possible. Where I know everyday I get out of bed that what I’m doing is important for others and not just myself. I want others to feel a passion for meaning something in other peoples lives. I want to create a fire and a desire for looking further than to their own neighborhoods, or their own country. Make others realize that people are people, and that a life is a life is a life.

Yes, I believe I can make a difference, but I believe that if more people know and care we will be able to make a bigger difference. I’m not saying that you have to save lives to make a difference, just a smile or a word can mean so much. What I’m saying is that I want people to realize their potential in the world, to believe in themselves and go out and make the impact they want to make. They have power.

Whether it is to give a smile and “thank you” to the lady in the store, tell the kids on their way to school that it is not okay to throw pebbles at other kids, give 20$ a month to a voluntary organization, help the neighbor with the economy tally, go to a concert the local teens have arranged, or to make dinner for your family, you have the power and opportunity to make a difference. The truth is that almost everything you do mean something in someone else’s lives, no matter what.

I want to work in a humanitarian organization. I want to stand up for what I believe is right. I want to help those who have no voice, or who aren’t heard, to be heard. I want to say “No freedom without love. No love without freedom.”

Leave a Reply

