You make me brave


I know I got nothing more to add
to all those old clichés
I never thought I would be
one to feel this way
All I’m really giving you
is my story and a tune
but if I could, I know I would
catch you the moon

When I first met you
I had tears sparkling in my eyes
“I’m fine, I’m fine, I’m fine, I’m fine”
all I said were lies
You banged on my door and tried to break in,
I tried to break out
“Go away, go away, go away, go away”
I couldn’t hear my heart shout

You pushed harder when I pushed you away
You asked my secret and promised you’d stay
I wish you’d told me it would all be okay
’cause I was, I am afraid

Beside you I wanna breathe
with you I wanna keep standing on my feet
beside you I wanna live
I wanna show you it’s worth it
Now I think I wanna dance
Now I think my life is worth a chance
I’m still afraid
but you make me brave, yeah you make me brave

With you in my days
my face is covered up in smiles
I laugh, I laugh, I laugh, I laugh
I feel like I can go for miles
You tell me your stories
I tell you mine
Now I swear, I swear, I swear, I swear
It’s not a lie when I say I’m fine

You pushed harder when I pushed you away
You asked my secret and promised you’d stay
I wish you’d told me it would all be okay
’cause I was afraid, I am afraid

Beside you I wanna breathe
With you I wanna keep standing on my feet
Beside you I wanna live
I wanna show you it’s worth it
Now I think I wanna dance
Now I think my life is worth a chance
Yeah, I’m still afraid
but you make me brave, yeah you make me brave

© Marie Olivia

Leave a Reply

