Cheesy poem #1

Years went by, and no one could see
This wrong right here, here inside of me
I became a poser, someone skilled to fake
When I wasn’t me ‘what could they possible take?’

I adapted smiles, and I redid their laugh
I was never whole, really, never even half
Sun stood up, and sun went away
I stopped dreaming of a brighter day

If someone had stood up for me back then
Maybe I would hope for sunshine again
But I fell and broke in too many places
The flame was gone, it got trapped in their mazes

Then you came by, and you could see
This wrong right here, here inside of me
You told me I was worth it, to give it all another try
But it was already to late, I’d already died

 

8 thoughts on “Cheesy poem #1

  1. O hell no..nothing cheesy at all. The idea is profound.. Thoreau’s “M M live lives of quiet desperation”. Had someone stood up back then, understood… I get that. It’s a sweet poem OmW!

  2. Cheesy? Ummmm….no. Not at all. Very profound. The “When I wasn’t me… what could they take?” line really stuck with me. What a great coping mechanism I guess. It unfortunately leads you to be someone you are not, and that’s not usually a good thing. Be yourself. You’ll find out who your true friends are.

    Your last stanza gave me such hope that a turnaround occurred, but unfortunately, that was not the case.

    Your poem is very thoughtful. Thanks for sharing.

    • Thank you! Means a lot to hear that someone liked it!
      Maybe in the poem there wasn’t hope, but life isn’t always like the writing we do, I guess in life there’s always hope, through and through ’til the end.

      • I really enjoyed it. There was hope in the poem, just as in life. Sometimes it works out, and sometimes it doesn’t. For poems and real-life scenarios. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

