Dependent much?

Truth #5.

I’m getting better at this honesty stuff. Barely lied all day! Woot?!

So. Hey! I think I’m a really dependent person. I would LOVE to say that I’m like independent and resourceful and stuff, but truth is, I need others. And what I’m thinking about right now is for emotional and social support. I think it’s because I’m so insecure, and have low self-esteem. And because I’m neurologically messed up and don’t know what’s right and wrong to say sometimes.

The truth is I evaluate almost every social encounter I have with people I don’t know properly with my mom, or some other close confidant. I feel stupid for doing it, thinking I should just do and forget. I don’t need to recap everything, do I!? Well, it seems I do. Almost until I get someone agreeing with that it was okay, and not lame, and the right thing to do, I can’t forget about it.

Like today, I met this guy walking in my neighborhood when I was walking towards my house. It was dark and I didn’t see who it was, but I assumed it would be someone I knew, and even if it wasn’t we were the only ones out there, and just two people walking past each other like that, I thought it only polite to say hello. So I said “hello”, and this guy said “hi” and then I continued towards my house. I heard on his voice it was one of my neighbors, a previous classmate. Milliseconds after those two small words were exchanged, my brain was racing, did I do the right thing!? So the second my mom came home later this night, I told her very accurately what had happened (as if I was telling my best friend about how this guy came up to me, and we had to scrutinize everything he did to figure out if he was into me or not, seriously that’s the only time I think this much studying is okay to spend on a tiny situation!). I even said the words in the same tone of voice and everything.

I’m just picturing myself not being able to say this stuff to anyone, or hearing them say “Yes, that was okay, and now you don’t need to think about it anymore”. What would I do, if I just kept obsessing over all these situations and they added up more and more? I could find another way, and I think it’s healthy to find another way (do you have any suggestions?) because I can’t be that dependent on someone else!

On a sidenote: I’m not entirely helpless. There are plenty of things I do manage to do on my own. No need to worry just yet. 

2 thoughts on “Dependent much?

  1. obsessing over every little thing I know how it feels. I hope you can find it in yourself to be more independent one day. xox I hope you have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

