I did something brave today

I know that some might say, ‘the fuuuck, that’s not brave, that’s easy!’ or ‘woooooah, man, that’s stupid!’, but I’m gonna be honest with myself, and nice to myself and say that I think it’s brave.

My mom showed me this article on a Norwegian news-site, a debate post from a reader. It was about suicide. The title read ‘Suicide is the Last Taboo’. I read it and thought it was an important piece, and well-written. Spot on. And I thought: more people should read this. And normally I would just leave it at that. But today, what I did was post the article on my Facebook. I wrote a short message about reading it and that others should read it too, because it was important. Yeah, it was uncomfortable and sad, but they could do it.

It’s been 8 minutes since I posted it, and there are still no reactions. Makes me scared inside. Because even though I don’t wanna give a shit about what people think of me, I do. Of course I do. But I did it still. Because I’m starting to figure out I would rather be that person who does what she can to shed the light on something she thinks is important. And really, this is so small, but if it can make 1 more person read that article maybe it will have the butterfly-effect. Maybe one day it will have mattered. And if all it does is make people think I’m a lunatic … then the heck with it, let them. Because if posting that is gonna make someone think I’m a lune … then that’s not on me.

… Gosh. I really wish someone would comment or like it already.

8 thoughts on “I did something brave today

  1. I haven’t seen the article, but from what I read here, you were very brave to post the article. If it helps even one person, that’s what matters. Don’t worry about what anyone else thinks about you or the article. You did what you did because it mattered to you. Some people are so afraid of what others are going to think about them, that they don’t or won’t do something they really believe in. Kuddos to you! I think you are awesome. Believe in yourself and ignore the ignorance of others. Take care.:)

    • THANK YOU!
      Thank for this comment, really.
      I know I wrote that I think it was brave myself, but I was really starting to doubt myself, and then it’s great to read someone else telling me that!
      It’s just that I see what all these other people post about … and it seems so posh and fake to me. And I’ve been AWOL from Facebook and the world, for half a year, and then the first thing I post is about suicide … sigh. And I don’t want people to be like scared from me. But at the same time, I don’t wanna be one of those people you wrote of that are so afraid that they don’t do what they believe in. But it’s kinda scary still. So yeah, thanks for taking the time to comment! 🙂

  2. What can I say other than woo! 🙂

    Even if you have just made one person think about the subject at hand, you will have changed a dynamic, and who knows where that could lead?

    Very brave. Great stuff!

    • Haha, gosh! I just understand that what you wrote was ‘woo’, I totally thought you had written ‘wool’, and I was like … whaaat!?
      Thank you for saying it was brave, means a lot! 🙂 We gotta do what we can 🙂

Leave a Reply

