Application for voluntary death

Suppose there was a thing like that, what would the criteria be? Who would process the application forms? What would their day be like? “Hello honey! Oh, nothing out of the ordinary, I approved 14 inquiries, and some of them darling were quite troubling, if I may say so. Luckily most of them applied for sudden death, so they don’t need to suffer knowing when it’ll happen. Actually we’re in contact with a new hit man, he seems pretty darn funny! I hope I’ll get to work with him planning a few of the terminations!” …

8 thoughts on “Application for voluntary death

  1. Wow, that is an intriguing thought! Imaging getting denied for such an application. Or even getting approved. The whole thing is just a crazy notion! Reminds me of the workers who have to go and ask a standard series of questions to the families left behind by the people who mysteriously disappeared in the Leftovers. It’s an equally disturbing job!

    -john

    • Yeah, it was an interesting thought indeed. To be frank I actually wrote an application like that and delivered it to my therapist! He went along with it and I got a serious answer, that’s dark humor I guess, but we both were in on it, so I actually loved that my therapy had room for something like that! Though it is quite bizarre!

      • That’s really cool that you can be that honest with your therapist, and that he’s not weirded out by your dark humour. Therapists can be cool sometimes!

        I’ve heard stories from other people about their therapists and how they’ve put them in some kinda institutionalized lock-down status for even just admitting to having thoughts of suicide.

        But there are some cool therapists out there, and I’m glad that you found one of the decent ones!

        -john

      • Yeah, I’m glad that I found this one as well! I’ve been through quite a few though, so I didn’t hit the jack pot at once!

        And if I was to be locked down every time I admitted to having suicidal thoughts I would be in constant lockdown, since I’m chronically suicidal. And since that’s a big problem for me it would’ve been terrible if I couldn’t talk about it.
        But I see how therapists can be scared of hearing about patients being suicidal, but it’s not really the right reaction to lock them up just because they have thoughts of it, that only makes the patient not want to voice their feelings about it, and they don’t really treat the real problem, they just hide it. Sometimes being locked up is the only right thing, sadly.

      • Yeah, I thought the point of having a therapist was to have someone you could talk to about your innermost thoughts and feelings. You can’t be a good therapist if your patient is afraid to tell you things, for fear of you locking them up!

        But I guess therapists have some kind of responsibility to make sure the patient doesn’t harm themselves. It’s a slippery slope!

        -john

      • Yeah, you’re so right! Because it’s the deep issues that makes us not work properly, and if we can’t even utter those words, then we can’t really heal either! Or, this is how I see it anyway.
        And yeah, I guess it is a slippery slope. But I think often it’s worse in the U.S., or after what I figure from tv-series law suits happen more often there than here. And maybe it’s alot about ‘what if’ and having their backs clean in case something happens. Instead of being realistic and putting people in hospital only when it’s really, really necessary. Because, people can’t be hospitalized for ever, and for some people getting better is about learning to hold out with the thoughts of suicide, and live your life with those thoughts. How are you supposed to learn that if you’re on suicide watch all the time? Impossible.

      • I’ve been talking with someone who is against psychiatry, they have some interesting points. One is that unlike medical doctors, psychiatrists have no physical tests they can perform on you to diagnose you with a mental illness.

        Doctors can give you an X-ray to tell if you have a broken bone, but there’s now brain-ray that can tell if you have schizophrenia, ADHD or the like.

        I can see what they are saying, but then come to find out, the person was a Scientologist. They recommended the Scientology practice of auditing as the only way to treat or cure supposed mental illnesses.

        That kinda spoiled the whole thing for me, but maybe there is something to Dianetics and auditing? What do you think?

        -John

      • I think scientology is a load of bullocks. I haven’t really invested a lot of time delving into it, but of the things I’ve heard scientology isn’t very rational.

        And saying that mental illnesses doesn’t exist because there are no proof of the illness really existing, I think is … wrong. That says that whatever a human being experiences that aren’t measurable doesn’t exist, and from my point of view that’s wrong. To me, dreams and being awake is both real. Yeah, one of those doesn’t really happen physically to you, but it happens to you in your mind, and to you emotionally. Everybody who has had a nightmare can testify that what happened in the dream affected them in their awake state of mind, and isn’t this proof that unmeasurable experiences and phenomena affects us? I think so.

        Of course diagnosing someone with a mental illness, where the symptoms are very much unmeasurable, will depend upon the psychiatrist taking the patients word at face value. Of course it is possible to lie, and get a diagnoses that isn’t really grounded in reality. But at the same time I do think there are some things that psychiatrists can measure. They can assess the patient on his/her behavior, and behavior is not as easy to fake over time.

Leave a Reply

